o_18vsg4sqkfsh344dbcj6m1tkpl o_18vsg4sqjid81vtrejgu27blvi o_18vsh6c48185u1b27102pnjbdljf o_18vsh6c48ut8bc31lfn1p6017uqd
  • News
  • Running-Report-6119
Running Report 6.1.19

Running Report 6.1.19

13 Jan 2019

Shrewsbury Athletic Club's Men's and Women's Cross Country teams have done the double at the Shropshire County Cross Country Championships at Oswestry. With strong turnouts in both squads, the Men's team stormed to victory for the first time since 2010,with their six team scorers finishing in the first 12, led home by Matt Hall in 2nd place and James Hickinbottom in 5th, with Pete Middleton 8th, Connor Middleton 9th, Richard Mckenna 11th and Charlie Rogers 12th making up the team scorers. The Women's team were also victorious led home in 1st place by Sara Willhoit, with the squad further strengthened by the appearance of Mel Price and Monika Oparka in their debut race for the Club in 2nd and 6th places, completing the team scorers. Richard Mckenna was 1st Male Veteran, Mel Price 1st Female Veteran and Lydia Carter 2nd Under 20 Woman. The Mens' Veteran team of Richard Mckenna, Kevin Francis and Simon Cole finished 3rd Veteran team.



Men: 2 Matt Hall 31/58, 5 James Hickinbottom 33/02, 8 Pete Middleton 33/36, 9 Connor Middleton 34/06, 11 Richard Mckenna 34/10, 12 Charlie Rogers 34/16, 16 Luke Butler 34/51, 24 Kevin Francis 36/12, 29 Stewart Farley 36/58, 47 Simon Cole 39/30.


Women: 1 Sara Willhoit 22/31, 2 Mel Price 23/28, 6 Monika Oparka 24/44, 8 Lauren Morley 25/07, 14 Naomi Cook 26/11, 21 Lydia Carter 27/19.


On the same day, at the North Wales Cross Country Championships at Corwen, there were podium placings for Rob Fox, 2nd Veteran Over 35, Haydn Jones 2nd Veteran Over 55 and Graham Jones 3rd Veteran Over 60.


Photo. Women's team. Left to Right: Mel Price, Sara Willhoit, Monika Oparka, Naomi Cook, Lauren Morley, Lydia Carter


In the Gallery. Men's team. Left to Right: Stewart Farley, Charlie Rogers, Pete Middleton, Richard Mckenna, Matt Hall, Luke Butler(captain), Connor Middleton, Simon Cole, Kevin Francis. Missing from photo is James Hickinbottom.