o_18vsg4sqkfsh344dbcj6m1tkpl o_18vsg4sqjid81vtrejgu27blvi o_18vsh6c48185u1b27102pnjbdljf o_18vsh6c48ut8bc31lfn1p6017uqd
  • News
  • Running-Report-2220
Running Report 2.2.20

Running Report 2.2.20

03 Feb 2020

Shrewsbury Athletic Club's Senior Men made it five titles in a row when they competed in the final fixture of the North Wales Cross Country League at Oswestry on Saturday. The Senior Men's team stormed to victory on the day and in so doing won the Division 1 title for the fifth successive season. The Men's Masters' team were also victorious on the day making it their third successive title in a row.. There were strong performances all round, spearheaded by Paul Jones who produced his highest placing of the season in 5th place, followed by Dan Elliot highest placing of the season in 7th place, with Jim Hickinbottom 9th, Pete Middleton 13th, Gabe Morris 15th and Robert Fox 20th completing the team scorers. The Masters team comprised Paul Jones 5th, Jim Hickinbottom 9th and Pete Middleton 13th.


On the day, Jim Hickinbottom was 1st Veteran Over 35, Paul Jones 1st Veteran Over 45, Paul Bowes 1st Veteran Over 50, Pete Middleton 2nd Veteran Over 35 and Gabe Morris 3rd Veteran Over 35.

There was double success for Jim Hickinbottom 3rd overall in the Mens Series and 1st Veteran Over 35, with further individual Series successes for Graham Jones 1st Veteran Over 60, Gabe Morris 2nd Veteran Over 35, Steve Waters 3rd Veteran Over 35, Haydn Jones 3rd Veteran Over 55 and Dan Elliot 3rd Senior Man. There were strong performances from the Club's women, with Sara Willhoit 1st, making it two victories in a row for the Great Britain athlete and Bev Whitfield 6th and 1st Lady Veteran Over 40 in only her second race for the Club.



Men: 5 Paul Jones 32/22(1V45), 7 Dan Elliot 32/25, 9 Jim Hickinbottom 33/16(1V35), 13 Pete Middleton 33/44(2V35), 15 Gabe Morris 33/56(3V35), 20 Robert Fox 34/16, 28 Steve Waters 34/59, 34 Nick Bradley 35/36, 41 Paul Bowes 36/13(1V50), 68 Matt Wooden 38/26, 99 Haydn Jones 41/23, 147 Richard Barker 49/35. Women: 1 Sara Willhoit 19/15, 6 Bev Whitfield 20/56(1V40).


Report compiled by Tony Scales


Main Photo: Left to Right: Jim Hickinbottom, Gabe Morris, Kevin Francis, Matt Wooden, Dan Elliot, Paul Jones, Luke Butler, Haydn Jones, Robert Fox, Graham Jones, Sara Willhoit, Steve Waters.

Missing from photo Pete Middleton, Nick Bradley, Paul Bowes, Richard Barker, Bev Whitfield.

In the Gallery

Men's team: Back Left to Right: Nick Bradley, Gabe Morris, Robert Fox, Pete Middleton, Paul Bowes, Paul Jones, Dan Elliot, Richard Barker, Matt Wooden. Front Left to Right: Steve Waters, Haydn Jones. Missing from photo Jim Hickinbottom.

Women's Team: Left to Right: Bev Whitfield, Sara Willhoit.